Tags

, ,

IMG_3653

Tet’s Eve offering – Cúng giao thừa

IMG_3643

– Special chicken for the offering – Gà luôc

IMG_3647– Tet’s offering

My sister wrote those on her FB page: “That was the moment gathered with family which my mother was busy for cooking traditional Tết food and presenting the Tết presents to relatives and friends while my father and little brother was cleaning and placing new offers for the altar.

Few last minutes before New Year Eve, mom reminded us preparing the new clothes to make sure that we won’t open any doors of wardrobe on the first day of New Year. It is just a belief of our culture to prevent the luck will be gone in New Year. While my parents were preparing the tray of five different fruits and others on the altar, three of us were watching the “Táo Quân” – Kitchen God, the three kitchen guardians for each house on television. Right after the show ends, we changed new clothes, ran to the rooftop to watch the fireworks after making ceremonial offering to ancestor and God and then went to pagoda with parents to get luck for New Year.

Since Vietnamese believe that the first visitor a family receives in the year determines their fortune for the entire year, we were arranged who will be the first one step into the house by mom ^.^

The New Year Day is the special day we are looking forward every year. We woke up early, changed clothes, had a feast ^.^ I mean the special breakfast ^.^ gave best wishes to parents and received the “bao lì xi” – Red envelop and wishes from them. I remember that we often opened “bao lì xi” right after receiving it to compare who gets the most lucky money. Dad always gave us the different money because he said that it depends how good we were last year since we were young and this thing never changed…”

I miss them all, my mom, my dad, my sis, my bro and his little family and grandma. Still could not believe that Granddad has passed away. I still kept a photo of Manuka & I and my mom and her Dad happy smiling on the 1st day of last Tet.
This Tet, only me & Matt & Manuka.

The big boy & little girl are fast asleep after a long day.
And I am here, writing ” Chúc mừng Năm mới!”

@NightOwlArtinTet

