Tags

, , , , ,

Went to Oslo last week to see the norwegian wood…

I once had a girl, or should I say, she once had me… 
She showed me her room, isn’t it good, norwegian wood? 
She asked me to stay and she told me to sit anywhere, 
So I looked around and I noticed there wasn’t a chair. 
I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking her wine 
We talked until two and then she said, “It’s time for bed” 
She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh. 
I told her I didn’t and crawled off to sleep in the bath 
And when I awoke, I was alone, this bird had flown 
So I lit a fire, isn’t it good, norwegian wood.
*[The Beatles]

I remember of staying in my little room in Canterbury and reading Norwegian Wood of  Japanese author Haruki Murakami. The novel is a nostalgic story of loss and sexuality. The story’s protagonist and narrator is Toru Watanabe, who looks back on his days as a college student living in Tokyo. Through Toru’s reminiscences we see him develop relationships with two very different women — the beautiful yet emotionally troubled Naoko [Norwegian Wood is her favorite song] and the outgoing, lively Midori.

I don’t like the tragedy and the story made me upset. But I do love the white of snow, the green of pine trees and the loneliness of being human when I am surrounded by norwegian woods…

Tôi nhớ khoảng thời gian một mình trong căn phòng nhỏ ở Canterbury và đọc Rừng Na Uy của tác giả Nhật Bản Haruki Murakami. Cuốn tiểu thuyết là một câu chuyện hoài niệm về sự mất mát và tình dục. Nhân vật chính của câu chuyện đồng thời là người kể chuyện là Toru Watanabe, nhìn lại ngày xưa của mình như một sinh viên trường đại học ở Tokyo. Thông qua những vật kỷ niệm của Toru, người đọc nhìn thấy anh ta phát triển mối quan hệ với hai người phụ nữ rất khác nhau – [mối tình đầu xinh đẹp nhưng tình cảm phức tạp là Naoko [Rừng Na Uy là bài ​​hát yêu thích của cô] và người đến sau sống động, cởi mở Midori.

Tôi không thích bi kịch và câu chuyện làm tôi khó chịu. Nhưng tôi yêumàu trắng của tuyết, màu xanh của cây thông và sự cô đơn của con người khi tôi được bao quanh bởi rừng Na Uy …

Holmenkollen, Norway, December 2011
Cú Mèo / the Night Owl Art

